Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Guitar Hero: On Tour hits 300k in the US

Thu 03 Jul 2008 12:51pm GMT / 8:51am EDT / 5:51am PDT
Retail

Activision says it's their biggest DS title launch by a factor of eight and one of the top five launches ever

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Activision has announced that its DS music game Guitar Hero: On Tour has sold more than 300,000 units in North America during its first week on sale.

The company claims this makes it the publisher's largest North American launch for a DS title by a factor of eight, and one of Activision's top 5 best-selling launches ever.

"Guitar Hero is one of the most successful entertainment properties and continues to push the boundaries of innovation with Guitar Hero: On Tour," said Mike Griffith, president and CEO, Activision Publishing.

"The game's breakthrough peripheral brings the Guitar Hero experience to the 41 million DS users in North America and Europe, where they can play anywhere, anytime."

Two Activision bosses were recently paid overUSD 6 million in bonuses as the company's merger with Vivendi - the parent company of Blizzard - is expected to be complete on or around July 9.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now