Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GTA IV hijacks top UK chart slot from Wii Fit

Tue 06 May 2008 11:33pm GMT / 7:33pm EDT / 4:33pm PDT
Retail

GTA IV, the biggest UK all formats number one title according to Chart-Track, debuts at number one

GTA IV, which sold a record-breaking 926,000 copies over its first five days of release, has - unsurprisingly - captured the top of the UK sales charts.

GTA IV outsold Wii Fit, last week's number one title, by a margin of over 9 to 1. Sales of Nintendo's title were down 58 per cent, which can be partially attributable to low stock.

After GTA IV, however, the remaining top five best-selling titles were Nintendo exclusives.

Just over 61 per cent of the value of all software sold this past week was for GTA IV - which Chart-Track said itself is bigger than the total software market figure of every other week so far in 2008 apart from week one.

The only other new release to reach the All Formats Top 40 chart this past week was Sega's Iron Man: The Official Videogame, which entered at number eleven.

The Top Ten best-selling games in the UK for the week ended May 3 were as follows:

  • 1. Grand Theft Auto IV
  • 2. Wii Fit
  • 3. Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games
  • 4. Wii Play
  • 5. Mario Kart Wii
  • 6. Gran Turismo 5 Prologue
  • 7. Pro Evolution Soccer 2008
  • 8. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
  • 9. Dr. Kawashima's Brain Training
  • 10. Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas 2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now