Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GRIN closes two offices, further layoffs expected

Tue 11 Aug 2009 7:38am GMT / 3:38am EDT / 12:38am PDT
Development

Bionic Commando and Wanted: Weapons of Fate developer facing financial difficulties

The Stockholm-based developer GRIN is facing financial difficulties and could be about to make further staff cuts following the closure of two of its offices, according to reports.

Development sources have told Gamasutra employees of the studio's main Stockholm office have been told not to go into work, and many are fearing the company could be undergoing bankruptcy procedure.

The company made some staff cuts earlier in June this year following the closure of two of its offices in Barcelona and Gothenburg.

The closures followed the studio's releases of games Bionic Commando, Wanted: Weapons of Fate and Terminator Salvation, all of which received a mixed reception from critics and at retail. While Bionic Commando reviewed mostly positively, it sold just 27,000 units in the US during its first month on sale, according to reports, while Terminator Salvation on PlayStation 3 is currently awarded a Metacritic score of 43.

Best known for its creation of the Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter games on PC, GRIN was originally founded in 1997. Its now-defunct Barcelona and Gothenburg offices opened just two years ago.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now