Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GOG.com signs up Unreal franchise

Tue 18 Nov 2008 11:38am GMT / 6:38am EST / 3:38am PST
Publishing

Epic's best-selling series to be sold by the classic PC-games digital distributor

GOG.com, the digital distributor of classic PC titles, has announced an agreement with Epic Games to bring several titles from the Unreal series to its website.

Under the agreement, Unreal Gold, with the the Return to Napali expansion pack, Unreal Tournament: Game of the Year Edition, Unreal II: The Awakening Special Edition and Unreal Tournament 2004: Editor's Choice Edition will be added to the GOG.com games catalogue.

"Epic Games redefined the first-person shooter with the Unreal series, and we're very happy to welcome them to the growing list of companies that share our vision of digital distribution," said Adam Oldakowski, managing director of GOG.com.

"We know that a lot of gamers have been waiting for new deals, and we're sure that the Unreal games will satisfy their lust for alien blood and intense multiplayer action… DRM-free, of course."

Jay Wilbur, vice president of Epic Games, added: "Epic has partnered with GOG.com to make our time-honoured Unreal series more accessible than ever before. GOG.com provides an affordable way to buy our back catalogue of games and get up and running with minimal effort."

Earlier this year, GamesIndustry.bizspoke with Oldakowski about the difficulty GOG.com experienced in convincing developers and publishers to let the company have access to back catalogue games.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now