Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Ghostbusters: The Game sales top 1 million

Thu 23 Jul 2009 7:47am GMT / 3:47am EDT / 12:47am PDT
RetailGames

Game of 1989 movie outsells all other film-based games of 2009 so far

Atari

Atari group is a global creator, producer and publisher of interactive entertainment for interactive...

atari.com

Ghostbusters: The Game sold 440,000 units in its first two-and-a-half weeks on sale in the US, according to June data from market research company NPD Group. However, according to developer Terminal Reality, the game's worldwide combined sales to date have actually topped a million units.

This total puts it ahead of any other film tie-in videogame released in 2009 so far, says Kotaku, including X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Terminator: Salvation and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen - all of which are based around far more recent box office hits.

The Terminal Reality game was in development for more than two years, originally the brain child of publisher Vivendi, which conducted a survey of gamers to find out which classic movie they would most like to see made as a game. Ghostbusters came out in the top five.

Dan Aykroyd recently said in a magazine interview that the title had cost between USD 12 - 15 million to make, although other reports have stated it was as high as USD 20 million.

The same NPD data showed Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen had sold a more modest 296,000 units and THQ's Up - based on the Disney/Pixar film - had sold 270,000 up until the end of June.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now