Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gears of War takes top spot in Xbox Live chart

Mon 20 Nov 2006 1:24pm GMT / 8:24am EST / 5:24am PST

Xbox Live's director of programming, Larry Hryb, has revealed that Gears of War has finally overtaken Halo 2 to become the most popular game on Microsoft's multiplayer service.

Xbox Live's director of programming, Larry Hryb, has revealed that Gears of War has finally overtaken Halo 2 to become the most popular game on Microsoft's multiplayer service.

Even with Call of Duty 2 and titles like Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter attracting huge crowds in the Xbox 360's early months on sale, Halo 2 has always managed to maintain its position on the top of the pile - and its ousting in favour of a new, 360-exclusive property is likely to be seen as significant.

Elsewhere in the most-played charts, Call of Duty 3 overtook its predecessor to slot in behind Gears of War. Contra is the third most-played 360 game amongst connected users, despite the release of Midway's Defender last Wednesday.

From GamesIndustry.biz Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now