Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Gears of War 2 beats LittleBigPlanet in charts battle

Mon 10 Nov 2008 7:20pm GMT / 2:20pm EST / 11:20am PST
Retail

Epic shooter takes number one spot in UK despite PS3 title's two-day head start

Microsoft's Gears of War 2 for the Xbox 360 has beaten Sony's PS3 hope LittleBigPlanet to the top of the All Formats charts in the UK.

Both titles are exclusive to their respective formats, and LittleBigPlanet even benefited from a sales head-start – being released on November 5, two days before Gears' November 7 release.

But data from GfK Chart-Track shows Epic's highly-anticipated shooter entered the charts at number one, enjoying the third-best week-one sales for a 360 title, behind GTA IV and Halo 3.

LittleBigPlanet was originally due for release October 24, but was delayed globally while Sony removed part of the games soundtrack.

The Media Molecule-developed title debuted at number four in the chart, beating THQ's newly-released WWE Smackdown Vs RAW 2009 at five.

Nintendo's Professor Layton and the Curious Village entered the charts at number six, while Guitar Hero: World Tour broke the top twenty at 17.

Sony's other PlayStation 3 exclusive MotorStorm: Pacific Rift didn't perform strongly in its first week, only entering the charts at number 29, just ahead of Ubisoft's new Tom Clancy franchise, EndWar, at 30.

The full top ten for the UK follows:

  • 1. Gears of War 2
  • 2. FIFA 09
  • 3. Fallout 3
  • 4. LittleBigPlanet
  • 5. WWE Smackdown Vs RAW 2009
  • 6. Professor Layton and the Curious Village
  • 7. Mario Kart Wii
  • 8. Quantum of Solace
  • 9. Pro Evolution Soccer 2009
  • 10. Wii Fit

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now