Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

GDC China scheduled for Shanghai in August

Wed 07 Mar 2007 8:46am GMT / 3:46am EST / 12:46am PST

Game Developers Conference organiser CMP has announced the dates and location for its inaugural Chinese event, which is being organised in partnership with technology, media and events firm IDG.

GDC China will run this year from August 27th to 29th in Shanghai, and is being planned in cooperation with an advisory board consisting of local Chinese developers.

The conference, which joins the main North American GDC event (this year's conference is currently running in San Francisco) and its European offshoot, GDC London / GDC Europe, is aimed specifically at promoting and supporting the vast Chinese game development industry.

To that end, the conference is promising a unique "by China, for China" approach to its programming - with session content tailored for the Chinese market and locally focused networking opportunities, for which the other GDC events have become well-known.

"GDC is about connecting the worldwide game development community, but it has become more and more apparent to us that certain markets require a unique, specialised experience," according to GDC senior conference manager Meggan Scavio. "The local developers on the GDC China advisory board hope to make that experience a reality and give the burgeoning Chinese market an infusion of creative ideas and strategic partnerships."

More information on GDC China is available at the official website, www.gdcchina.cn.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now