Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Games-on-demand for Live

Mon 01 Jun 2009 8:30pm GMT / 4:30pm EDT / 1:30pm PDT
OnlinePublishing

August launch for 30 titles; credit card sales as well as MS points; user rating system introduced

Microsoft is to launch a games-on-demand service for Xbox 360, allowing users to buy full games such as Mass Effect, Assassin's Creed and BioShock over Xbox Live.

Around 30 titles are due for the launch of the service in August, with Microsoft accepting direct purchase with credit cards, as well as the standard option of using Microsoft Points.

The service was announced following Microsoft's E3 conference during a VIP lunch for select members of the press.

As with Xbox Live Arcade titles, Microsoft is promising to release new titles every week, and users will also be able to rate games using a star rating system.

The company would not commit to detailing whether titles will launch for sale online day-and-date with boxed retail copies, with the initial batch of games suggesting the service will act as a resale opportunity for older product.

The first titles on offer will also include Sonic The Hedgehog, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, Crackdown, Colin McRae DiRT, Call of Duty 2 and LEGO Star Wars.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now