Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Games could become "little more than a marketing tool"

Thu 19 Jun 2008 11:11am GMT / 7:11am EDT / 4:11am PDT
Development

The videogames industry should stop following the film industry, or risk repeating its mistakes, says producer Eckert.

Film Producer Todd Eckert has called for games developers to avoid emulating the film industry, saying it runs the risk of being "co-opted".

Giving a speech at the GameHorizon conference, Eckert told attendees that games are on their way to becoming the "greatest artistic medium" and should be wary of repeating mistakes made by the film industry.

"Today, the greatest potential for meaningful interaction between the entertainer and the entertained exists in videogames," he said.

"Games should become the world's dominant medium...the film industry sees itself as a funnel channelling pop culture down the throats of the masses. For some reason the game industry still seems completely enamoured with the film industry. And if we're not careful we'll become like they are - little more than a marketing tool."

"We all have the responsibility to make games the greatest artistic medium they can be and we can. I know some of you are here to make money, that's fine, but without the fundamental soul of the game the medium is nothing," Eckert added.

The GameHorizon conference is taking place today in Newcastle, and has attracted speakers such as Chris Satchell, Ian Livingstone, Charles Cecil, Tameem Antoniades and more.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now