Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Gameloft sales up 20% in first half-year

Thu 30 Jul 2009 9:11am GMT / 5:11am EDT / 2:11am PDT
Business

Half-year growth reaches 16%; North America sees strongest revenue rise

Gameloft has reported a 20 per cent growth in sales for the first half of 2009, comprising a 22 per cent increase in first quarter sales and 17 per cent for the second quarter.

The figures put the French publisher's consolidated sales for the first half of 2009 at EUR 60.1 million, which indicates half-year growth for the company has reached 16 per cent.

95 per cent of these sales were generated from its mobile games activity, while the remaining five per cent represent console games.

Strongest growth overall, meanwhile, was seen in North America, where sales were up 39 per cent over the six months. Europe represented 38 per cent of revenues for the same period.

The business's expansion in the face of the worldwide economic slowdown was attributed to the success of its iPhone and iPod titles, as well as a solid performance from its Java and Brew titles.

"The company expect solid sales and profitability growth in 2009", concluded the report.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now