Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gameloft cuts Android investment, claims others will follow

Mon 23 Nov 2009 10:15am GMT / 5:15am EST / 2:15am PST
MobileBusiness

"Nobody is making significant revenue," said finance director

Mobile games company Gameloft is reducing the amount of money invested in developing titles for Google's Android platform.

Speaking to Reuters finance director Alexandre de Rochefort said, "We have significantly cut our investment in Android platform, just like... many others."

Apparently part of the problem is the Android's application store just can't match up to its biggest competitor, reports Eurogamer. "It is not as neatly done as on the iPhone," de Rochefort said. "Google has not been very good to entice customers to actually buy products. On Android nobody is making significant revenue."

"We are selling 400 times more games on iPhone than on Android," he added.

During the last financial quarter, iPhone games accounted for 13 per cent of Gameloft's revenue.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now