Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

GAME unable to fulfill Rock Band pre-orders

Wed 21 May 2008 10:22am GMT / 6:22am EDT / 3:22am PDT
Retail

Retailer working closely with EA to bring in new stock post-launch

A number of GAME stores across the UK are warning pre-order customers that they might not be able to pick up their Rock Band bundles when the game is released this Friday.

The retail specialist has stopped taking pre-orders for the game in store, as new consumers become attracted to expensive offerings from publishers such as Electronic Arts, Activision and Nintendo.

"As with other hugely innovative and popular titles like Guitar Hero and Wii Fit, Rock Band is creating enormous interest from a new range of customers," a spokesperson for GAME told GamesIndustry.biz.

"This has meant that some of our stores have had to stop taking pre-orders because their launch stock of the Band in a Box pack has already been ordered."

Publisher Electronic Arts caused outrage amongst fans last month when it announced the price of the game in the UK.

The peripherals for the game are priced at GBP 129.99 with the game sold separately at GBP 49.99. In North America the game complete with instruments retails for around USD 169.

However, high pricing clearly hasn't deterred committed fans, with the game likely to sell out during the rest of the month.

"We are working closely with EA to bring more units in for the launch and immediately post-launch," added GAME.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now