Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Game revenue up 8% in Australia in 2009

Thu 05 Nov 2009 2:49pm GMT / 9:49am EST / 6:49am PST
BusinessRetail

Sales on track to beat record figures achieved last year

Retail sales for video and computer games and hardware in Australia look set to outperform last year's record total of AUD 2 billion (USD 1.8 million). Data tracked until the end of September show the country's market is up 8.3 per cent on the same period of 2008.

According to market research group GfK Retail and Technology Australia, sales of console hardware have risen 10 per cent on last year, and game sales are up five per cent. Spending over the Christmas period is also expected to be buoyant.

Ron Curry, CEO of the Interactive Games and Entertainment Association said: "Christmas will see IGEA members delivering a number of highly anticipated games, along with some surprises, which should see sales surpass the records set in 2008,"

Family console games now account for the highest percentage of games sold in Australia, making up 32 per cent of the total. They're followed by action games at 13 per cent. 67 per cent of all games sales came from games rated G or PG, indicating the popularity of family friendly titles.

"Australia's interactive games industry continues to see healthy growth now that video and computer gaming has become as mainstream in popularity as watching television or surfing the net," added Curry.

2 Comments

"AUD 2 million (USD 1.8 million)"

Pretty sure that should be "2 billion".

Posted:4 years ago

#1
You're right. Changed and thanks.

Posted:4 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now