Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Game Changers

Fri 28 May 2010 10:21am GMT / 6:21am EDT / 3:21am PDT
Hardware

Move, Natal, 3D, Blu-ray, Live - which technologies will define the console battlefield in the coming years?

Every year since the launch of the PlayStation 3 has been confidently touted, by one commentator or another, as being Sony's Year. Perhaps it's difficult to let go of the idea that Sony is the market leader, or perhaps the company is better at wining and dining analysts than its rivals, but either way, the reality has never quite matched up to those expectations.

On the contrary, these regular pronouncements have become something of a joke among gamers and industry alike - with Sony's self-appointed cheerleaders having now cried wolf so often that they'll find it pretty difficult to be taken seriously even when they're actually right.

As such, it's not entirely surprising that most people seem to be taking a hefty pinch of salt with Strategy Analytics' report this week that the PS3's global market share comfortably outstripped the 360 in the first quarter of 2010. The facts aren't really in question - the PS3 is absolutely doing better than it was previously. The lasting impact, however, is trickier to calculate.

This is an excerpt from the full article. Read the whole thing by visiting GamesIndustry.biz

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now