Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Funcom confirms US redundancies

Tue 25 Nov 2008 5:55am GMT / 12:55am EST / 9:55pm PST
Development

Age of Conan developer looking to reduce costs by downsizing

Age of Conan developer Funcom has confirmed it has made some redundancies in the US, but has said it does "not want to mention any specific numbers".

A report over the weekend by Ten Ton Hammer suggested that QA and customer services positions were axed, accounting for 70 per cent of the workforce.

"We did have some staffing cuts at Funcom this week as well as new positions opening in the organisation as part of our ongoing cost based efficiency and performance initiatives that are vital to any business," said Funcom in an offical statement provided to GamesIndustry.biz.

The developer's MMO Age of Conan: Hyborian Adventures launched earlier this year, but after impressive pre-orders the decision was made to merge game servers in order to create "healthy communities for the game in the future."

Co-founder and producer Gaute Godager stepped down from his position at the company in September, dissatisfied with the game.

Funcom has so far not responded to requests from GamesIndustry.biz for further clarification and comment.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now