Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Funcom co-founder quits, "dissatisfied" with Age of Conan

Wed 17 Sep 2008 8:07am GMT / 4:07am EDT / 1:07am PDT
Development

New producer for MMO promises to prioritise customer concerns

The producer and game director of Age of Conan: Hyborian Adventures has decided to quit developer Funcom after 16 years.

Gaute Godager, one of the original co-founders of the company, said that he was dissatisfied with parts of the game, and that it was now time to hand control of the popular MMO over to a new team member.

"I have done my very best making this fabulous game, but I have concluded there are elements which I am dissatisfied with," said Godager.

"I have decided to act on this, and as a result I have chosen to leave Funcom."

Taking on Godager's role is Craig Morrison, previously producer and game director for Anarchy Online, and also an ex-Telegraph and IGN staff member.

"It is time to get new, fresh eyes on Age of Conan, and I wholeheartedly support the appointment of Craig," offered Godager.

Morrison has said that his main priorities are to listen to the players of the fantasy MMO, and to act on their concerns.

"I have a clear conviction I can lead the further development in a good way, evolving Age of Conan into something even better," he said.

"My main priority now is therefore to listen to, and act on, player concerns, while ensuring we add additional great content to the game.

"At heart I will always be a gamer, and the coming changes and additions to Conan will always be done with the gamers in mind. Together I am certain we will shape an amazing future for Age of Conan."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now