Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Free Realms hits over 2 million users

Wed 27 May 2009 12:52pm GMT / 8:52am EDT / 5:52am PDT
Online

75 per cent of users under 17, a third of all players are female, says SOE

Sony Online Entertainment's free-to-play MMO Free Realms has notched up over two million unique users since launching a month ago.

According to the developer, 75 per cent of users are under 17 years of age, with 46 per cent under 13. Nearly a third of all players are female.

"In less than a month, Free Realms has captivated a core player base of tween and teen gamers, while also strongly resonating with MMO gamers," commented John Smedley, president of Sony Online Entertainment.

"We wanted to create a game to play with our families and are excited to have hit the mark with our intended audience."

Although free-to-play, users can buy Station Cash game cards from Best Buy, Blockbuster, Rite Aid, 7-Eleven and Target to upgrade to Membership status and buy in-game items for the game.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now