Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Frank Sliwka to leave Leipziger Messe in October

Tue 09 Sep 2008 12:01pm GMT / 8:01am EDT / 5:01am PDT
EventsPeople

Silvana Kürschner named as new strategy director for Games Convention Global

Frank Sliwka, the organiser of the Leipzig-based Games Convention Developers Conference and the Singapore-based Games Convention Asia Conference has announced that he is to leave Leipziger Messe at the end of September.

He is set to become CEO of Global Games Media, a marketing and communication company, and commented on his departure: "I spent wonderful years with Leipziger Messe. However, I'm now looking forward to starting from October onwards a new challenge as the CEO of Global Games Media Ltd."

While Games Convention has been extremely successful in the past few years, breaking attendance records and establishing a firm foothold as the key European gaming event on the calendar, a rival event will be held in Cologne next year with the support of German publisher group BIU.

It's not yet clear who will be organising the developer conference at the Cologne event, although Global Games Media could be a possibility to fill that role.

Meanwhile Leipziger Messe was swift to announce the appointment to the newly-created executive-level role of Silvana Kürschner as strategy director for Games Convention Global.

In that role Kürschner will oversee the development of all games events with the Leipziger Messe corporation, including the recently announced North America event, with Vancouver a possible destination.

A new project director for the company's developer conferences is set to be announced shortly.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now