Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

First days sales of PSPgo in Japan top 28,000

Tue 03 Nov 2009 8:27am GMT / 3:27am EST / 12:27am PST
Retail

Digital handheld makes respectable debut into region

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

PSPgo has sold over 28,000 units on its first day on sale in Japan according to early data.

Enterbrain figures show the digital console managed sales of 28,275 in just one day, reports Andriasang (via Famitsu.com). The launch was supported with retail and download titles Persona 3 Portable and Dissidia Final Fantasy Universal Tuning, as well as download-only titles Disgaea Infinite and LocoRoco Midnight Carnival,

In comparison, the DSi sold 170,000 units in its first two days on sale in November 2008, while the PSP 3000 sold over 140,000 in four days in October. Unusually for a console however, the PSPgo launched in Japan on a Sunday, which some speculate could have negatively impacted first day sales.

The numbers compared well to Australia, where the PSPgo sold just over 1000 units in its first week.

While specific UK launch figures haven't been released, Sony has said the launch here was "in line with expectations" and that sales of PSP hardware grew 120 per cent following the release of PSPgo.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now