Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

First China outsourcing conference to be held in July

Mon 15 Feb 2010 1:07pm GMT / 8:07am EST / 5:07am PST
EventsOutsourcing

Principle CGOC to be held during 2010 ChinaJoy expo

The first ever China Game Outsourcing Conference (CGOC) is to held during this year's ChinaJoy expo in Shanghai.

CGOC will include forums and business match meetings aimed at providing game companies both in China and abroad with a platform for communication on outsourcing.

According to market research conducted by Niko Partner, 60 per cent of game developers worldwide outsource parts of their business. Screen Digest has predicted that outsourcing will account for 40 per cent of global development costs in 2010, a percentage that would be worth in the region of $2.5bn.

The value of that business to Shanghai has far exceeded that of other Chinese cities, with outsourced production providers such as Virtuos and Mineloader flourishing. Meanwhile, companies such as Activision, Eidos, EA and Epic have all set up business branches in Shanghai.

According to Han Zhihai, ChinaJoy's secretary-general, the event will promote vigorous development of game outsourcing in China.

The ChinaJoy expo annually attracts visitor numbers of over 100,000, including gamers, around 500 media outlets and over 10,000 local and international trade visitors. It will take place this year from July 29-August 1.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now