Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Final Fantasy helps PS3 sales rocket in Japan

Fri 24 Apr 2009 7:49am GMT / 3:49am EDT / 12:49am PDT
Retail

Popular franchise boosts Sony's console sales by 45,826 units within a week

Sony's PlayStation 3 has topped the Japanese hardware sales chart for the week ended April 19, outselling all other consoles with 62,527 units, according to data provided by Media Create.

The PS3 benefitted from the release of the movie Final Fantasy VII Advent Children Complete and an accompanying 'Cloud Black' special edition of the console, as well as the release of the Final Fantasy XIII playable demo - boosting sales by 45,826 units within a week.

Nintendo's DS platform maintained dominance in the handheld market with a combined 44,725 units. DSi sales contributed 38,287 units to the total and DS Lite sales offered up 6438 units. Meanwhile Sony's PlayStation Portable saw sales of 40,065 units.

The Wii home console sold 13,221 units, beating out the Xbox 360 at 8652 units and PlayStation 2 at 4230 units.

Japanese hardware sales chart follows:

  • PlayStation 3 - 62,527
  • Nintendo DS - 44,725
  • PlayStation Portable - 40,065
  • Nintendo Wii - 13,221
  • Xbox 360 - 8652
  • PlayStation2 - 4230

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now