Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Fils-Aime: What is PSPgo's benefit?

Mon 12 Oct 2009 7:49am GMT / 3:49am EDT / 12:49am PDT
BusinessHardwarePublishing

NoA president questions PSPgo's concept and target audience

Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime has questioned Sony's decision to release the PSPgo, saying he believes the digital console has a "fundamental concept problem."

"I have the utmost respect for all our competitors," he told the Washington Post. "But it's interesting to try and answer the consumer question of 'what's in it for me?' in that product."

He added the device may have a "fundamental concept problem in terms of 'who it's for' and 'what's the benefit?'"

Fils-Aime also spoke about the Wii's launch, saying that Nintendo wouldn't handle it differently - or price the console higher - if it had a second chance,

"The device's lower price was central to attracting the mainstream consumer," he said. "We wouldn't do it any other way.

And he revealed too that the company has no desire to enter the mobile phone market, despite the successes of the iPhone.

The DS, with its dual screens, offers an experience that can't be matched by a smartphone, he said, pointing out that Scribblenauts couldn't be done on an iPod.

"We don't have a desire to get into the phone space," he concluded. "We think the game business is competitive enough."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now