Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

European industry at "war" with other territories, says Darkworks CEO

By James Lee

Fri 12 Sep 2008 7:00am GMT / 3:00am EDT / 12:00am PDT

Antoine Villette calls for greater tax breaks across Europe to tackle foreign competition

The European games industry is at "war" with rival territories and must band together, says Antoine Villette, CEO and co-founder of Darkworks.

Speaking to, Villette told of his belief that European games companies needed tax breaks from their governments - not to compete against each other, but rather against other global territories.

"What is important is not the UK fighting against France [or] France against Germany, this is not the point," he said.

"The point is that we, as Europe, are culturally and historically linked together. We are in a worldwide industry and so we have to go together... We are fighting competition as a cultural and economic territory with Canada, China, India.

"Hey, wake up, this is a war. If we want to our children to have at least as good life as we have then we have to fight," he added.

The full interview with Darkworks' co-founders Antoine Villette and Guillaume Gouraud is available now.

From Recommendations by Taboola

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now