Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

EUK stores waiting on Resistance 2

Mon 01 Dec 2008 12:21pm GMT / 7:21am EST / 4:21am PST
Retail

Zavvi and WHSmith branches go without the highly anticipated first-person shooter

Retailers across the UK have yet to receive copies of the PlayStation 3 exclusive title Resistance 2, as distributor Entertainment UK struggles to supply stores before Christmas.

GamesIndustry.biz has learnt that EUK customers, Zavvi and WHSmith are still awaiting their supply of the anticipated first-person shooter, originally released on Friday November 28.

Key Zavvi stores in Brighton, London and Manchester are yet to carry the game, with one staff member explaining: "We seem to be having supply problems at the moment."

A spokesperson from Deloitte, which currently serves as the administrator of EUK and Woolworths, commented: "Since EUK went into administration, the administrators have either met or spoken with the majority of customers and suppliers and constructive talks are ongoing."

The spokesperson further added that the company couldn't confirm when the stores should expect copies to arrive. However, non-EUK stores, such as GAME and HMV, are currently supplied with stock.

Failure to ship a triple-A title could hamper Deloitte's ability to find a potential buyer for the company and it is yet to be seen if EUK will be able to keep up with busy launch schedule in the run up to Christmas.

Note: Currys got in contact with GamesIndustry.biz and said it had no issues with its supply of the game, Zavvi and WHSmith have been contacted for further comment.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now