Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

ESA appoints new head of government affairs

Wed 18 Feb 2009 3:49pm GMT / 10:49am EST / 7:49am PST
People

Jennifer Manner joins organisation to lead its state and federal relations team

The Entertainment Software Association has named Jennifer Manner, former executive at Skyterra Communications, as its new senior vice president for government affairs.

Starting this month, Manner will be responsible for heading the US publishers group's government relations team. This comes a day after the organisation announced it had filed a report with the US trade representative asking that 40 countries be put on a piracy watch list.

"The entertainment software industry is faced with a variety of challenges and opportunities at the national level from protecting intellectual property and preserving First Amendment rights to fostering economic development and technological advancement," said Michael D. Gallagher, CEO of the ESA.

"Jennifer's wealth of policy experience, particularly in the broadband space, will serve the ESA and our members well as we work to create a prosperous environment for the entire computer and video game industry."

Previously Manner was senior counsel at the Federal Communications Commission, the US media regulator, and has served as legal counsel to a variety of tech-based organisations.

"Jennifer is an outstanding choice for this position," said former FCC commissioner, Kathleen Abernathy.

"With her broad experience communicating effectively with multiple public and private sector stakeholders and tackling complex regulatory matters, the industry and the ESA will benefit from Jennifer's leadership."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now