Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

ELSPA praises ratings system following Manhunt 2 ban

Tue 19 Jun 2007 1:57pm GMT / 9:57am EDT / 6:57am PDT

ELSPA director general Paul Jackson has said that the decision taken by the BBFC to ban Manhunt 2 from sale "demonstrates that we have a games ratings system in the UK that is effective".

UKIE

The Trade association for UK Interactive Entertainment

ukie.info

ELSPA director general Paul Jackson has said that the decision taken by the BBFC to ban Manhunt 2 from sale "demonstrates that we have a games ratings system in the UK that is effective".

"The games industry is a creative phenomenon that produces all kinds of games across all kinds of genres that appeal to all kinds of people across the country, young and old, male and female," Jackson, the boss of the Entertainment & Leisure Software Publishers Association - of which almost all UK videogame companies are members - went on to add.

"The important thing to know is that all games are rated according to age suitability, with over 70 per cent of games being available to all ages over three years."

Earlier today the BBFC said it had rejected PlayStation 2 and Wii versions of Manhunt 2.

It's the first time a game has been banned by the BBFC since Carmageddon in 1997 - a decision that was subsequently overturned on appeal, which is an option still open to Manhunt 2 publisher Rockstar.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now