Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

ELSPA leaves publishers to take own action on file-sharing

Wed 20 Aug 2008 10:45am GMT / 6:45am EDT / 3:45am PDT
Development

Trade association wants individual companies to deal with growing problem

UKIE

The Trade association for UK Interactive Entertainment

ukie.info

The UK trade body for videogame companies has said the publishers and developers should deal with the problems of piracy however they deem it appropriate for their own business.

The Entertainment and Leisure Software Association was speaking following legal action being taken by a number of companies including Atari and Codemasters against 25,000 file-sharers.

"ELSPA does not condone this activity in any way, however, due to the civil nature of the offences, this is a matter for each of our members to tackle in a way that they feel is appropriate for their individual businesses," said the company in a short statement.

Legal firm Davenport Lyons is acting on behalf of Atari, Codemasters, Reality Pump, Techland and Topware Interactive by demanding alleged games file-sharers pay up GBP 300 each or face further legal action.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now