Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

ELSPA hails Change4Life videogame endorsement

Mon 26 Oct 2009 5:00pm GMT / 1:00pm EDT / 10:00am PDT
PoliticsELSPA News

Wii Fit Plus becomes the first title to be allowed to use NHS campaign logo

UKIE

The Trade association for UK Interactive Entertainment

ukie.info

ELSPA has announced that following consultation with the UK's Department for Health, Wii Fit Plus will become the first videogame to be allowed to use the National Health Service's Change4Life campaign logo in its advertising.

The move marks a significant turnaround since March this year, when an advertising campaign run under the Change4Life banner depicted a child playing videogame with the slogan: "Risk an early death, just do nothing."

The campaign caused a significant uproar in the games industry, but despite numerous complaints by key industry figures to the Advertising Standards Authority, it was allowed to continue.

But the turnaround since then has come about, says ELSPA's director general Mike Rawlinson, from a lengthy process of consultation.

"We are thrilled that active videogames are finally being recognised by the Government for contributing to a healthy, balanced lifestyle," he said. "Since the negative portrayal of videogames in a Change4Life advertisement earlier this year, ELSPA worked with the Department of Health to gain proper recognition of the many benefits which active gaming can bring to an energetic lifestyle.

"Children and adults across the UK already know that dancing, jumping or even boxing within an active videogame have real exercise benefits. We are encouraged by this positive step to gain wider recognition of the health benefits that videogames can offer to individuals, families and communities alike."

Wii Fit Plus is set for release in the UK this Friday.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now