Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Electronic Arts acquires MMO developer Mythic Entertainment

Wed 21 Jun 2006 9:55am GMT / 5:55am EDT / 2:55am PDT

Electronic Arts has signed a deal to acquire Mythic Entertainment, the studio behind Medieval MMORPG Dark Age of Camelot and the forthcoming Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning.

Electronic Arts has signed a deal to acquire Mythic Entertainment, the studio behind Medieval MMORPG Dark Age of Camelot and the forthcoming Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning.

Under the terms of the deal the studio will be renamed EA Mythic, and CEO and co-founder Mark Jacobs will take on the title of vice president and general manager. VP and COO Rob Denton will continue in his role, and Mythic's 175 staff members will remain employed at the studio's Virginia headquarters.

"The addition of Mythic to the EA family reflects our deep commitment to the online gaming market worldwide," commented EA studios president Paul Lee.

"Together, we will create games that will introduce MMO players to a whole new level of gameplay and excitement."

Jacobs added: "EA's commitment to the online market as well as its focus on creating games of unsurpassed quality, scope and scale gives us opportunities and resources we could only dream about in the past."

The deal, which is subject to closing conditions, is expected to close during the second quarter of EA's 2007 financial year. The terms of the acquisition were not disclosed.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now