Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Eidos closes Manchester studio

Fri 23 Jan 2009 9:56am GMT / 4:56am EST / 1:56am PST
Business

Mobile and casual games outfit shut down by Tomb Raider publisher as it concentrates on titles that "deliver long-term value"

Eidos has confirmed to GamesIndustry.biz that it has closed its mobile gaming studio in Manchester, with 14 redundancies.

"As a company we need to focus our efforts on high-quality titles that will deliver long-term franchise value, and in these incredibly challenging and competitive times we need to pro-actively manage our cost base," said the company.

"This decision was a difficult one to make and we would like to thank these employees for their hard work and we wish them well in their future careers."

Eidos acquired Rockpool Games, as it was then known, in February 2007, along with its two sister companies Ironstone Partners and SoGoPlay.

The publisher picked up the teams to continue its push into casual and mobile gaming, which at the time the company believed were "consistently growing markets".

Last year Eidos closed its Pivotal studio, responsible for the Conflict series, and most recently let a number of staff go at Tomb Raider developer Crystal Dynamics after disappointing sales.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now