Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA's Pleasants replaced by Microsoft's Schappert

Fri 19 Jun 2009 6:55am GMT / 2:55am EDT / 11:55pm PDT
PeoplePublishing

John Schappert hired as chief operating officer, returns to the company he first joined in 1991

Following the announcement of COO John Pleasants departing the company, Electronic Arts has announced that John Schappert has been hired away from Microsoft to assume the role of COO.

Schappert, who joined Microsoft in 2007 to create the Live Software division, will oversee worldwide publishing, the Online Platform Group, EA Interactive, and various other divisions within the company.

"After nearly two decades working in or around this company, Iíve got EA in my blood," said Schappert. "This is a team that is intensely focused on quality and innovation. Iím looking forward to rejoining EA as chief operating officer and helping grow the business on new platforms and in new markets."

Schappert first joined Electronic Arts as a software engineer in 1991. He formed Tiburon Entertainment just three years later, where he helped develop games in the EA Sports line that included the Madden NFL and National Hockey League franchises. Tiburon was acquired by EA in 1998.

In 2002 Schappert moved on to the EA Burnaby Studio in British Columpia, where he oversaw the FIFA Soccer, NHL Hockey, and Need for Speed franchises, among others, before being hired at Microsoft in 2007.

"We are thrilled to welcome John Schappert back to EA," said EA CEO John Riccitiello. "He has a great track record as a leader and innovator in our industry. His years of experience with EA and in Microsoftís Xbox business, provide him great insight into recognizing what consumers want."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now