Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Early copies of Modern Warfare 2 break street date

Fri 06 Nov 2009 5:29pm GMT / 12:29pm EST / 9:29am PST
Retail

UPDATE: The Hut blames Royal Mail for early delivery, as High Street retailers in Europe also begin selling early

Activision Publishing

Activision, Inc. is a leading international publisher of interactive entertainment software products....

activision.com

Copies of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 have begun turning up on consumer's doormats, with both LoveFilm and The Hut sending the game out early.

And in mainland Europe High Street retailers have begun selling copies of the game in-store, with one consumer showing GamesIndustry.biz copies of the PC version of the game and a receipt as proof of purchase.

The Hut, which also despatches games for LoveFilm, admitted the blunder in a statement to GamesIndustry.biz, stating: "We are dedicated to getting products to customers on release. We use Royal Mail as our preferred courier and were advised to dispatch on Thursday for delivery on Tuesday due to the impending strike action. This was called off on Thursday evening and we have contacted Royal Mail to hold the product until Tuesday."

Images of the game along with covering notes from retailers have begun surfacing on the internet, as users post pictures and gain the kudos of playing the game early.

Activision's title isn't officially due until Tuesday November 10, with retailers opening at midnight to begin selling the game. In the UK, an official launch will take place at HMV in London, with rival retailers GAME and Gamestation also opening the majority of their outlets for eager consumers.

HMV said earlier this week that it would not be sending out early copies of the game, and today GAME told our sister site Eurogamer.net that it would honour the street date.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now