Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA will "take back market share", says Ramsdale

Wed 22 Apr 2009 10:33am GMT / 6:33am EDT / 3:33am PDT
Business

UK boss "incredibly optimistic" about new financial year

Electronic Arts UK boss Keith Ramsdale has said he's confident the company can regain its position in the marketplace this year, following strong competition from Activision Blizzard, formed last year.

"Financial year '09 wasn't great for us - that's been well-documented," said Ramsdale, speaking at a press event in London this morning. "Thank heavens for FIFA," he added.

According to Ramsdale EA is "incredibly optimistic" about prospects for the new financial year. "We are going to take back market share, that is our aim and our belief," he said, pointing to products such as The Sims 3 and Boom Blox Bash Party as potential success stories.

Ramsdale went on to say EA is focusing on two areas of innovation - the Wii and online gaming. He reported that half a billion online gaming sessions had been racked up for EA Sports titles alone. The company is also confident that new Wii title EA Sports Active will perform well.

"We are genuinely upbeat, and it's a great feeling after financial year 09," Ramsdale concluded.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now