Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA to license Spore TV and movie rights - Wright

Thu 14 Aug 2008 7:43am GMT / 3:43am EDT / 12:43am PDT
Business

Publisher hopes to the game will appeal to a wider audience than The Sims

Will Wright has revealed that EA intends to license the television and movie rights to his upcoming game Spore, in a bid to appeal to a wider audience, according to InformationWeek.

EA plans to use the licensing to promote Spore among groups outside of the traditional game playing audience. Wright - the game's creator - says he believes Spore can appeal to a group far larger than his other hit series The Sims.

"With Spore, we're looking way outside the game space, such as TV, movies, etc. We're basically planting the seeds to spread Spore out to a much wider group of people than would ever play a computer game," Wright explained.

"We're going to be much more intelligent about harvesting other market opportunities for Spore than we were with The Sims, which as big as it was in the game space, pretty much remains in the game space."

"Longer term, I think the brand of Spore potentially has a wider net to cast than The Sims did," he added.

Spore is currently slated for release on September 5 in the UK, while the next iteration in The Sims franchise - The Sims 3 - is expected next year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now