Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA tells users to "try guessing" missing security key

Tue 04 Nov 2008 10:56am GMT / 5:56am EST / 2:56am PST
Publishing

Misprint blunder leaves users unable to play Command and Conquer: Red Alert 3 PC game

Electronic Arts has misprinted CD keys on the manuals for Command and Conquer: Red Alert 3, leaving some consumers unable to play the game.

The CD keys should be 20 characters long, but due to a misprint, some manuals feature only 19 characters. However, the company's customer support service has suggested a simple solution – try guessing the missing digits.

"There is currently a work-around that may allow you to bypass this issue. Since you have the first 19 characters of the code already, you can basically try guessing the last character," explains the customer support site.

"To do this, simply enter your existing code, and then for the last character, try the letters A-Z, and then the numbers 0-9. You should eventually get the right combination, and be able to play the game."

The game was released in the UK on Friday and entered the charts at number 15.

"We apologise for any inconvenience this has caused," said EA of the misprint. Alternatively, users can call a customer support phone line.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now