Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA takes away studios' souls, says Bobby Kotick

Thu 24 Apr 2008 3:08pm GMT / 11:08am EDT / 8:08am PDT
Publishing

Activision's CEO speaks out against the business practices of its main rival publisher

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Activision's CEO Bobby Kotick has struck out against EA's handling of acquired studios, during an interview about the company's recent merger with Vivendi.

Kotick who presided over the merger, talked to Condé Nast Portfolio about how Activision's approach to studios it buys differs from its competitors.

"It's about really being considerate of the culture in the game studios that Activision buys. That's the biggest difference between us and any of our competitors," he explained.

"We built a model that celebrates entrepreneurial, opportunistic, independent values. It's almost the opposite of Electronic Arts, which has commoditised development."

"It did a very good job of taking the soul out of a lot of the studios it acquired," Kotick added.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now