Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA Sports to release line of branded equipment

Mon 16 Feb 2009 5:04pm GMT / 12:04pm EST / 9:04am PST
Publishing

Children's sports kit to use technology to train young athletes

EA Sports has announced it has entered a partnership with Toy Island to manufacture a line of branded sports products.

Described as "sports equipment that will bring the excitement of videogame simulation outside onto the fields of play", the products will feature an interactive training tools that makes use of infrared, motion and equilibrium sensors to serve as a virtual coach.

"Our goal is to take the EA Sports brand deeper into the fabric of sports, and into new markets that allow more people to unleash their inner spirit of sports and competition," said Peter Moore, president of EA Sports.

"With Toy Island, we've found a partner that shares EA Sports passion for quality and innovation. We're excited to be working with them to bring to market unique products that are sure to be captivating for young athletes."

George Vorkas, president of Toy Island, added: "We could not be more thrilled with the opportunity to work with EA Sports on what we think is the next level of sporting goods."

"To take games that so many of us play with and make them relatable on a physical level to kids that have grown up playing EA Sports videogames, is something that we are delighted to do."

This partnership comes off the back of the deal with IMG Licensing, announced last year, whereby the company became the exclusive worldwide consumer product and brand licensing agent for EA Sports.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now