Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA responds to Australia's banning of Left 4 Dead 2

Wed 23 Sep 2009 11:36am GMT / 7:36am EDT / 4:36am PDT
PoliticsPublishing

Publisher believes adults have right to choose content they consume

Following the news that Left 4 Dead 2 has been refused classification in Australia due to excessive violence, an EA spokesperson has responded to its effective banning saying the publisher believes adults should have the freedom to choose what games they play.

"It's funny that a place like Australia, which has come up with some pretty violent material in the past with something like Mad Max, can effectively ban videogames for the same reason," EA's European communications director Tiffany Steckler told GameSpot AU.

"EA believes that adults should have the right to make their own choices when it comes to the content they consume."

Steckler would not comment on whether Valve will now edit the game in order to gain a 15+ certification - the maximum age rating games can be awarded in the country.

Left 4 Dead 2 was refused classification by Australia's rating board earlier in the month. In its report the board said the game contained "realistic, frenetic and unrelenting violence" that was unsuitable for persons under 18 years to play.

3 Comments

Thomas Bahon
Head of Payment Services

26 1 0.0
Don't you know video games compare to most movies and all books are evil and the root of any crime on earth? ;)

Posted:4 years ago

#1

Peter Law
QA Developer

42 2 0.0
So does Australia ban 18 rated films too?

Posted:4 years ago

#2

Tulay Tetiker
Head of QA - BioWare Edmonton & Montreal

10 0 0.0
I like "realistic, frenetic and unrelenting violence" - realistic..., we're still talking about Zombies, right?

Posted:4 years ago

#3

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now