Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA Partners still set to publish Rage

Thu 25 Jun 2009 9:06am GMT / 5:06am EDT / 2:06am PDT
BusinessPublishing

Deal remains unchanged despite acquisition of id Software by ZeniMax

Electronic Arts has told GamesIndustry.biz that its deal to publish id Software's Rage is still in place.

Yesterday, ZeniMax Media, which owns rival publisher Bethesda, acquired id Software, boasting that its "library of powerhouse franchises will include Doom, Fallout, The Elder Scrolls, Quake, Wolfenstein and Rage."

However, "EA's agreement with id Software for Rage remains unchanged," said the company in a statement.

EA Partners signed Rage - a new shooting and racing title - last year. Other titles to be published by EA Partners include Crysis 2 from Crytek and Realtime Worlds' online title APB.

1 Comment

Kyle Rowley Senior Gameplay Designer, Remedy Entertainment

26 17 0.7
I'm pretty sure the EA Partners program isn't really a publishing deal. Through the EA Partners program, EA offer various services to developers (i.e marketing, distribution etc.) but don't actually fund the development of the game like a traditional publishing deal and therefore won't hold the rights to the IP.

Anyone actually know how these EA Partner distribution deals work?

Posted:5 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now