Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA Mythic expects 1 million for Warhammer Online beta

Thu 03 Apr 2008 8:42am GMT / 4:42am EDT / 1:42am PDT
Online

Opening beta to Asian markets should push number of users above milestone, says Mythic's Jacobs

Mythic Entertainment

Formed in October 1995 by Rob Denton and Mark Jacobs, Mythic is most well known for Dark Age of Camelot....

mythicentertainment....

EA Mythic's general manager Mark Jacobs has said that he's confident the beta for forthcoming MMORPG Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning could surpass one million users once the title is opened up to the Asian markets.

A closed beta for the game has been live for over a year, but Jacobs has said he's pleased with the numbers signing for the game, which has already surpassed 500,000 users.

"Actually, I'd be surprised if we didn't hit one million once we start taking beta apps for our Asian partners," said Jacobs in a blog post.

"Even without Asia, based on our current sign-up rate, we should blow through 750,000 and we have a decent shot at one million.

"Since we have already far surpassed my initial goal, I'm quite happy with what we have. And since I'm sure somebody will ask this, my goal, post EA, was to have 500K signed up in North America and Europe," he revealed.

Warhammer Online has already suffered delays and and is currently scheduled for release this autumn.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now