Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA Mobile Q1 revenue grows by 14%

Wed 05 Aug 2009 11:57am GMT / 7:57am EDT / 4:57am PDT
Mobile

Multiple releases throughout the period secures mobile publisher's number 1 position

EA Mobile revenue grew by 14 per cent during the three months ending June 30 2009, according to the company's just-announced Q1 FY10 financials.

In total, sales reached USD 50 million; up from USD 44 million during the same period in 2008.

These figures, according to an EA statement, ensure the company retains its position as the world's largest publisher of mobile game.

It puts success during the quarter down to a prolific mobile and iPhone release schedule - ten mobile titles and 11 iPhone titles were launched during the three month period. Including The Sims 3, which held the iPhone chart number one position for over a week at a price point of USD 9.99.

The game was EA Mobile's third USD 9.99 iPhone title to reach number one, after Spore Origins and SimCity.

While sales within Electronic Arts' mobile division were buoyant for the quarter, the company as a whole suffered revenue decreases of 20 per cent on last year, as reported earlier today.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now