Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

EA cuts Pandemic Brisbane studio - report

Wed 14 Jan 2009 9:21am GMT / 4:21am EST / 1:21am PST
Development

Publisher downsizing hits Australian team; studio to retain IP

Electronic Arts has ended its deal with Pandemic's Brisbane studio, according to internet reports.

The studio will retain its own intellectual property and equipment, according to blog Kotaku, and is currently looking for new partners.

"It was more of a 'find a new publisher. Good luck.' kind of thing," said an unnamed source.

EA bought Pandemic and BioWare towards the end of 2007, with CEO John Riccitiello stating; "They'll make a strong contribution to our strategic growth initiatives on quality, online gaming and developing new intellectual properties."

However, Electronic Arts is currently making cutbacks to projects and staff, and will publish less titles during the 2010 financial year.

Nine studios are to be consolidated or closed by the publisher, with around 1000 staff set to be made redundant by March this year.

GamesIndustry.biz has contacted EA for further details.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now