Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA cuts back staff at Maxis

Thu 27 Aug 2009 7:20am GMT / 3:20am EDT / 12:20am PDT
Development

Spore and The Sims team hit by layoffs, franchises unaffected says publisher

Electronic Arts' Maxis studio is the latest development team to suffer from cutbacks, as the publisher looks to reduce headcount and refocus the business.

Franchises are not affected, said EA, and all eligible employees will receive severance.

"Often in the videogame industry, the size of a studio fluctuates in response to business conditions," wrote EA in a statement to the press.

"In this case, EA has taken action to reduce the workforce at Maxis as we focus the business and focus Maxis. EA remains fully committed to Spore and other IP within Maxis, with games planned for launch in the next few months, including Spore Hero, coming to the Wii for the first time, and Spore Hero Arena on the DS.

"All eligible employees will receive severance and outplacement assistance."

Will Wright, founder of Maxis, left EA earlier this year, but has said that he will continue to work on the Spore franchise in the future.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now