Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA completes DICE acquisition

Mon 02 Oct 2006 4:25pm GMT / 12:25pm EDT / 9:25am PDT

Electronic Arts has completed its acquisition of Stockholm-based development team Digital Illusions CE, a move it started officially in March of this year.

Electronic Arts has completed its acquisition of Stockholm-based development team Digital Illusions CE, a move it started officially in March of this year.

The Battlefield developer will now become a fully integrated EA studio, where it will work on developing further content for the popular military franchise, as well as creating new products for PC and next-generation consoles.

"EA is thrilled to officially welcome this team of incredibly talented people and a globally recognised franchises," said Paul Lee, president of EA Worldwide Studios.

"We're confident that our creative approach and business leadership principles are well matched to share future success," he added.

Electronic Arts had tried to acquire the developer back in 2004, but shareholders rejected the publishers' offer despite it being recommended by Digital Illusions board of directors. Both companies have since worked out differences in order to successfully merge.

Digital Illusions latest title, Battlefield 2142, is due for release in Europe on October 20th.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now