Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA allows SecuROM de-authorisation

Wed 01 Apr 2009 8:26am GMT / 4:26am EDT / 1:26am PDT
Publishing

Spore, Mirror's Edge, Mass Effect, Burnout Paradise, Dead Space and Red Alert 3 take advantage of new tool

EA has released a de-authorisation tool for its controversial SecuROM digital rights management system.

SecuROM-protected games only allow installation on up to five PCs. Although this is not being changed, the new tool allows users to de-authorise particular machines on the list, thus freeing up "slots" for new installations on other computers.

In fact, de-authorisation needs to be done with game-specific tools, but EA has also made a de-authorisation management tool available. This will show all EA PC games released after May 2008 that are installed on a users machine, and tell the user how many computer authorisations are available for each.

De-authorisation doesn't uninstall the game, so it can be re-activated later if a free slot is available.

Affected games include Spore, Mirror's Edge, Mass Effect, Burnout Paradise, Dead Space and Red Alert 3.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now