Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA acquires Playfish for $250m?

Thu 15 Oct 2009 7:41am GMT / 3:41am EDT / 12:41am PDT
BusinessPublishingDevelopment

Rumours suggest Facebook games maker already part of Electronic Arts

Industry rumours are today suggesting that Electronic Arts has bought social games specialist Playfish for $250 million.

Both company's are remaining quiet on the matter, but a report by Inside Social Games suggests the deal was sealed a number of week's ago, with an official announcement expected this month.

Playfish specialises in games for Facebook, with users growing from 35 million to 60 million in the past twelve months on the social network. It also has games on MySpace, Google, Bebo, iPhone and more. The report suggests Playfish "could be on track to make as much as $75 million this year."

Another social games company, Zynga, has also been linked to Electronic Arts, and it's believed the makers of Mafia Wars and Cafe World has an asking price of $1 billion and plans to go public as early as March next year.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now