Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

E3 "virtually useless for retail and investors" - Pachter

Thu 10 Jul 2008 7:33am GMT / 3:33am EDT / 12:33am PDT
Events

No surprises or access to execs dampens analysts mood for annual showcase

Leading analyst Michael Pachter has said that the annual E3 Media and Business Summit offers no business opportunities for the investment and retail communities.

Before its downsizing last year, E3 was seen as the yearly event where retail could see products for the first time, meet with publisher execs and evaluate titles for the coming Christmas season.

"The conference used to offer retail, media and investors an early look at games and an opportunity to speak with company managements," says Pachter, speaking to The Street.com.

“Now the games have long since been announced and the event is virtually useless for retail and for investors."

However, the event clearly does still have an effect on the industry as a whole. Media, retail and the rest of the games business will be watching the Los Angeles event closely next week for new announcements.

Todd Greenwald, of analyst Signal Hill, said yesterday that as well as an upcoming price cut for the Xbox 360, he expects Microsoft may unveil a new motion sensitive controller in an attempt to regain audience share lost to Nintendo's Wii.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now