Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

E3 keynote faces poor turnout

Thu 17 Jul 2008 7:52am GMT / 3:52am EDT / 12:52am PDT

Just over two dozen turnout for keynote in 1000 seat venue

Texas Governor Rick Perry delivered his E3 keynote speech to a drastically lower than expected number of attendees.

Shortly before Perry began his speech, the room's 1000 seats remained largely empty with an audience numbering in the single digits which slowly grew to a maximum of just over two dozen, according to Gamespot.

His speech broadly focused on extolling the benefits that developers and publishers would find if they chose to set up shop in Texas. Perry noted that Texas was the third-largest videogame producing state, but added "I'm gunning to be number one."

He praised the games industry for its competitive nature and called for more games that dealt with serious social issues, such as parenting and preparing soldiers for peacekeeping missions.

"There are fascinating things going on in your industry that not enough Americans - that not enough people around the world - know about that," Perry said.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now