Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Dungeons and Dragons Online US relaunch branded a success

Tue 08 Sep 2009 12:24pm GMT / 8:24am EDT / 5:24am PDT
Development

Millions of points sold, says Turbine, "and we've not even opened to the public yet"

Turbine spokesman Adam Mersky has indicated that the early-access launch of Dungeons & Dragons Online Unlimited has been a huge success.

The US-only, free-to-play makeover for the MMO turns regular subscribers into VIP members and gives access to all game content as well as a monthly Turbine Point allowance. But, said Mersky, the company has still profited from Turbine Point sales.

"They all got a ton of points for being loyal subscribers, for being in the beta. We weren't really expecting a ton of sales - they had no incentive to. They already had access to all of the content as VIP subscribers, and we just gave them a butt-load of Points," Mersky told Kotaku, as reported by Eurogamer.

"They've gone through their points, and we've already sold millions more Turbine points, and we've not even opened up the world to the public yet."

"The hottest selling items are the new Favored Soul class, which is unlockable in-game, but all of our subs just went ahead and spent points on it, unlocked it, and they're playing it right now," he added.

Dungeons & Dragons Online Unlimited will be made openly available to the rest of the US tomorrow. Alongside the switch to a free-to-play model comes Module 9, which raises the level cap, adds two new storylines, overhauls the combat system and introduces the Favored Soul. Module 9 will also be released as a regular free update to European subscribers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now